The 2009 Iditarod Sled Dog Race – And So It Begins

by Sleddoggin Staff on April 7, 2011

The Iditarod. The Last Great Race. 1,150 miles of hard-core terrain only meant for the toughest of animals. Man and dog become a united team as they cross frozen tundra, windswept coastlines, and forested mountains. This year we watch as the drama unfolds yet another time.

This year 67 teams will hit the Iditarod trail. Among them such greats as Jeff King, Martin Buser, Rick Swenson, Mitch Seavey, DeeDee Jonrowe – and Lance Mackey.

In 2007 and 2008 Mackey proved us wrong by showing us that two 1,000 mile dog sled races could not only be completed in one year – but won. Jeff King, the ultimate innovator, brings with himself the talent of one Yukon Quest win, and four Iditarod wins. Buser also maintains a four time Iditarod champion mantel – and is also the “Fastest Iditarod” record holder at 8 days, 22 hours, 46 minutes and 2 seconds. This year many battles will be fought – and intriguing stories created.

Join us here at for two special weeks packed with up-to-date Iditarod news and information – as we follow this Last Great Race. Take the time to engage in Iditarod discussions on the forums, post your Iditarod photos, and comment on the incoming articles and stories.

And last but not least…
May the best dog team win!

Related posts:

  1. Iditarod 2008 – The Race Is On!
  2. Cain Carter Wins 2009 Jr Iditarod Sled Dog Race
  3. International Pedigree Stage Stop Sled Dog Race Starts Friday, January 30, 2009
  4. Sled Dog Endurance Capabilities Change Long Distance Racing Strategies
  5. Sebastian Schnuelle Wins 2009 Yukon Quest Sled Dog Race


Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: